Thursday, August 1, 2013

GWR: Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour by Donna Huber

About the Author

Donna Huber is an avid reader and an individual who naturally encourages others. She is the blogger behind Girl Who Reads where, in addition to book reviews and author appearances, she writes the popular blogging advice series, Tips on Thursday. She has worked as a freelance publicist since 2010 assisting publishers and authors with their marketing and publicity needs. Most notably, she was the publicist for The Writer's Coffee Shop Publishing House edition of Fifty Shades of Grey and Fifty Shades Darker by E. L. James.
When Donna is not doling out blogging advice or promoting the next bestseller, she can be found spending time with family (particularly the four legged, furry members), re-watching Downton Abbey and Harry Potter, or trying to make a dent in her never ending to-be-read pile. 

About the Book

Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour is jam packed with awesome tips and tricks! It gives you an ultimate guide to planning a successful blog tour, while keeping your sanity. From the publicist who introduced the world to Fifty Shades of Grey, Donna Huber is now revealing her secrets to successful blog tours. She shares tips and tricks learned through organizing over 30 tours, blasts, and promotional events for nearly 50 independently and traditionally published titles.

Secrets Revealed Include:
  • planning stage decisions
  • different types of tours
  • recruiting bloggers and keeping request organized
  • best practice communication tips
  • tricks to making a great guest appearance
  • how to organize a fun (and legal) giveaway
  • actions to take during the tour
  • next steps once the tour is complete
  • virtual tour and other promotional opportunities
  • when to hire a professional
"In this easy to follow manual, Donna does not stop there. She spills even more of her blog tour secrets to help authors get the most out of their events"
  • tour checklist
  • tour invite tips
  • step-by-step guide to creating tour graphics
  • 10 broad quest post topics
  • 25 sample interview questions

Top Ten List of Promotional Sites for Your Bargain eBook

"Authors are always looking for places to get their ebooks featured when they are having free days or 99 cents promotions. It is usually one of the first questions clients have for me. There are are a number of sites that will feature your ebook. Below are ones that I have or would recommend to clients.
1. Book Bub (http://www.bookbub.com) - This site is huge and has one of the best returns on your investment. They have some review requirements and can be pricey. If you can get on this site, though, DO! 2. eReader News Today (http://ereadernewstoday.com/) - another top site for free and bargain ebooks. 3. Pixel of Ink (http://www.pixelofink.com/) Contact them early if you need a certain date. 4. Indie Book Promo (http://indiebookpromo.com) A number of paid advertising options 5. Kindle Daily Nation (http://indie.kindlenationdaily.com/) Sponsor an email that is sent out about Kindle Daily Deals, plus they have partnered with Book Gorilla (similar to Book Bub). 6. The 99 cent Network (http://www.99-cent-network.com/www.99-cent-Network.com/Home.html) While most of the promotion sites are for free or 99 cent ebooks, The 99 cent Network will feature ebooks up to $5.99. 7. Indie Author News (http://www.indieauthornews.com) Does book features and interviews as well as book features. 8. Digital Book Today (http://digitalbooktoday.com/) Offers more than book features - let readers get to know you a little more with a guest post. 9. Addicted to eBooks (http://addictedtoebooks.com/)* 10. GoodKindles (http://www.goodkindles.net)*

*I found these two sites at GalleyCat and will be recommending them to clients as potential promotional sites. There are other sites listed in the GalleyCat article you might want to investigate further (http://www.mediabistro.com/galleycat/free-ebook-promotion_b52130)" Donna Huber
+Donna H 

Buy the Book


Amazon (US) - http://amzn.to/14uf6Js
Amazon (UK) - http://amzn.to/128YXex
Smashwords - http://bit.ly/1295181
Kobo - http://bit.ly/12iPtO7

Links

Follow Donna on Twitter - https://twitter.com/girl_who_reads
Twitter Party August 15th @ 8:00 pm (EST) #GWRchat
Connect on Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/pages/Girl-Who-Reads/273856382671730
Girl Who Reads Blog - http://www.girl-who-reads.com
Add to Goodreads - http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17980343-secrets-to-a-successful-blog-tour

Scheduled Features for Secrets to a Successful Blog Tour by Donna Huber

July 29th - Fresh Pot of Tea - http://alisondeluca.blogspot.com/
July 30th - Sarah Aisling - www.sarahaisling.com
July 31st - 1 Book Lover's Opinion - www.1bookloversopinion.com
August 1st - ME! What Shall We Blog About Today? http://kenowinsky.blogspot.com
August 2nd - Jude Ouvrard - www.judeouvrard.com
August 3rd - Jamie Sheffield - www.jamiesheffield.com
August 4th - From the desk of... R. E. Hargrave - www.rehargrave.com
August 5th - All That's Written... - http://lucypireel.wordpress.com/
August 6th - Italian Brat's Obsessions - http://itlnbrt.com
August 7th - Author S. A. Jones - www.authorsajones.com
August 8th - Karen Pokras Toz - http://kptoz.blogspot.com
August 9th - Lisa Bilbrey - www.lisabilbrey.blogspot.com
August 10th - Elizabeth Lawrence, Author and Professional Oddity -  http://elizabeth-lawrence-author.blogspot.com/
August 11th - Aria Glazki Writes - ariaglazki.blogspot.com
August 12th - Rose and Beps Blog - http://rosebeps.blogspot.it
August 13th - Cabin Goddess - http://cabingoddess.com/
August 14th - Killer Chicks - http://www.killerchicks.org/
August 15th - Tune in for the Twitter Party @ 8 pm (EST) @girl_who_reads #GWRchat
August 16th - Library Girl Reads and Reviews - http://librarygirlreads.blogspot.com